Atheist dancing to Black and Gold

Maybe some people find it difficult to examine how music and stories that may go against your own inclinations can give you enjoyment. Dawkins was given a hard time for enjoying carol singing till he said that an inability to distinguish what is real and not real would mean a mentality that sends Christmas Cards to the Archers. He could and so enjoyed carols.

I trust that will not happen with my publicly stated enjoyment of the song “Black and Gold” by Sam Sparro:

Lyrics follow at the end of this blog. The song suggests that without a meaning behind existence there is no reason living, and that reality is based on human emotion responding to existence. The implied suggestion is that there is something you can get close to – otherwise existence has no meaning.

Which naturally I reject. Without a creator or an intelligent purpose behind it life would be worth living, the purpose driven life is that you have to find that purpose for yourself. Rather than be told what it is, in a nicely bundled up package and life manual. Self help books, plenty of them out there and I am sure they are very useful to people. We often have crises of purpose throughout our lives with trigger events – redundancy, break ups, set backs. They will happen because life has ups and downs.

I rather like how Douglas Adam puts it – in an experiment involving a fairy cake a person can experience the whole infinity of the universe and how they relate to it. With such a sense of proportion the human mind cannot function and would be destroyed (we are so small in relation to the universe). Some people claim that meditation allows you to do this for real, but that sense of scale is overcome by seeing the interconnectedness of everything.

Putting to one side whether there is or is not a god. Here we are. Yes we could just exist to replicate DNA from the past to the future – an intermediary in this process. Our purpose does not have to be based on our reproductive value. It really is down to you to make the most of your life in the time you have. With some odds being against or for you, in forms of chemical imbalances and genetic make ups, the environment you are in- it is not fair get over it no one is saying it is. You can grab life by the balls, you can find out what life is for you. See beauty in the stars, feel the vibe of the cosmos. It may not be here with you in mind, but you can get on with living.

This song actually reflects the main reason why you can throw all the fossils of intermediaries at creationists till your arms are aching, and weigh them down with empirical observations that validate the theory of evolution. There is a longing that existing has a function that validates their existence – they will not consider that something beyond the observable is not there. There has to be because they feel it. An entirely emotional response that will not be overcome by science, rationality, because it is not based on evidence but on feeling. I would rather find out about what can be observed – it allows me to appreciate the stars and life the more.

So I choose to dance to this song. Might be fun requesting it at an atheist disco but I like the melody. At any rate I would rather dance to this beat than Greydon Square. Why should theists have all the good music?

Mmmmmm

If the fish swam out of the ocean
And grew legs and they started walking
And the apes climbed down from the trees
And grew tall and they started talking

And the stars fell out of the sky
And my tears rolled into the ocean
Now I’m looking for a reason why
You even set my world into motion

’cause if you’re not really there
Then the stars don’t even matter
Now I’m filled to the top with fear
That it’s all just a bunch of matter

’cause if you’re not really there
Then i don’t want to be either
I wanna be next to you
Black and gold
Black and gold
Black and gold

Mmmmmm

I looked up into the night sky
And see a thousand eyes staring back
And all around these golden beacons
I see nothing but black

I feel a way of something beyond them
I don’t see what I can feel
If vision is the only validation
Then most of my life isn’t real

’cause if you’re not really there
Then the stars don’t even matter
Now I’m filled to the top with fear
That it’s all just a bunch of matter

’cause if you’re not really there
Then I don’t want to be either
I wanna be next to you
Black and gold
Black and gold
Black and gold

Black and gold
Black and gold
Black and gold

Ohhhhh

’cause if you’re not really there
Then the stars don’t even matter
Now I’m filled to the top with fear
That it’s all just a bunch of matter

’cause if you’re not really there
I don’t want to be either
I wanna be next to you
Black and gold
Black and gold
Black and gold

UPDATE 11 OCTOBER 2008:

Sam Sparro and Annie singing Black and Gold together (the feel my heart beat version):

Leave a comment

Filed under atheism

Leave a Reply

