Knocking on My Door

I smiled, already realising that the two women that had knocked on my door, were Jehovah’s Witnesses. Even before I opened I could see two other ladies at my neighbour’s bungalow.

I had no desire to argue or debate. Largely because it would be a waste of my time, and it was so cold I did not want them out longer than they need be. One had a walking stick, the other grey hair rosy cheeks. Both in good humour in contrast to the bitter weather.

So asked if I believed in God as the opening gambit, when i said i was not interested, I said on balance of evidence there probably was not one. They both looked horrified. The rosy hair cheeked one mentioned the planet Mars as being designed.

The Smart Alec in me wanted to say the planet was named after a god of war. Despite the cries to him on the battlefield, and homage paid to him we no longer believe that god of antiquity. I’m sure you don’t either.

I’ve just gone one less god than you have at the moment.

But I didn’t. Instead I said look the weather is dreadful for goodness sake call it a day.

They said they would probably go to the pub, smiles back. Which I full heartedly endorsed with a cheery good bye.

I think I might be embracing my humanism more and saving my militant atheism for Sunday best.

20121026-002056.jpg
Above: On My Christmas List

3 Comments

Filed under Jehovah's Witnesses

3 responses to “Knocking on My Door

  1. Most Jehovah’s Witnesses are decent folk who are trapped in an oppressive cult like organization the Watchtower society.
    The Watchtower core dogma is Jesus ‘invisible’ return or second coming October 1914,this is a false doctrine.
    Matthew 7:15-16 “Be on the watch for the false prophets,who come to you in sheep’s clothing…..”
    God bless-Danny Haszard FMI- dannyhaszard(dot)com

  2. I have a pub two doors down from me. I think when the Witnesses come to call (England is already freezing, after all), I will invite them down there for a drink. Atheist Humanism for the win. Haha.

Leave a Reply

