In bed, with Marcus Aurelius

Roman Emperor Marcus Aurelius on getting up in the morning:

At dawn, when you have trouble getting out of bed, tell yourself, “I have to go to work – as a human being. What do I have to complain of, if I’m going to do what I was born for – the things I was brought into the world to do? Or is this what I was created for? To huddle under the blankets and stay warm?”

The key here is to do what you were born to do, and using your free will that you choose what makes you get out of bed with a spring.

However, natural survival instinct is to want to stay warm when cold first thing.

My solution is to set the alarm 15 minutes before I need to get up – though usually body clock wakes me before. I use that time to stretch under the covers, and imagine the day being challenging but solving and getting through it and feeling good about that. Then the alarm goes off – end of contemplation, time for action!

Fantasy is not about escaping the real world, but being able to live in it.

20130121-104327.jpg

Side note: You may well remember Richard Harris (as Marcus) asking Russell Crowe in Gladiator to bring an old man another blanket.

Article written by John Sargeant on Homo economicus’ Weblog

Follow @JPSargeant78

Leave a comment

Filed under atheism, Humour, Philosophy

Leave a Reply

