Putting childhood things away as a child because of religion

How I open my apostasy story has stuck in some people’s minds:

I was nine years old when childish things were put away.

I watched my toys being packed up and sealed into a cardboard box. Presents from Christmas, like my treasured Millennium Falcon and X-Wing fighters, bought after watching Star Wars for the first time and my given-for-birthday Spectrum games where I fought valiantly against hordes of ghosts and monsters to save the damsel in distress.

The selection was made by an elder who would decide if the toys were to be buried or burnt. They were chosen on the basis of whether they suggested a power beyond that of Jehovah – blasphemy for Jehovah’s Witnesses like us – or evoked the occult and satanic machinations. Even Pacman could not escape this moral maze.

The full story, as part of the Apostasy Project can be read here.

A commentator has kindly shown a video produced by the Jehovah’s Witnesses that demonstrates how to reason with a child to give up playing with a toy that goes against Jehovah.

It is a typical “role play” like style we did at Theocratic Ministry School to learn to convert people to our way of thinking.

This is childhood indoctrination. This is child abuse.

Please support the apostasy project.

Article written by John Sargeant on Homo economicus’ Weblog

Follow @JPSargeant78

1 Comment

Filed under Jehovah's Witnesses, Religion

One response to “Putting childhood things away as a child because of religion

  1. muggleinconverse

    That video makes my skin crawl. When I think of all the books and CDs I was made to throw away…
    I remember not being allowed to watch ‘Scooby Doo’ which confused me as the “ghosts” and villains always ended up being people, never actually supernatural. It wasn’t until much later that I realized that I was being taught that magic and witches and the whole lot were supposed to be real when I had always accepted them as fantasy. Ugh.

Leave a Reply

