Great (marital) Expectations – the woes of a nontraditional Asian journalist

Like many watched the live tweets of the rishta experience. I’m sure Iram can hang on longer than the family might expect.

She will be a real scoop for someone one day.

Do read the full post.

Do read

iramramzan

Runaway_Bride_jw

“The woman who follows the crowd will usually go no further than the crowd. The woman who walks alone is likely to find herself in places no one has ever been before.” ~ Albert Einstein

The whole evening was a mixture of embarrassment and expectations, with a whiff of desperation. Or maybe that was the smell of the samosas frying.

For a start, I was told to put on a nice pair of salwar kameez. I refused point blank to change out of my skinny jeans and tee shirt, but wearing western clothing in front of Asian guests is not ‘proper’. Denim is kryptonite to the auntie brigade.

I didn’t care. It would set a very bad precedent – why should I let these people think that I was traditional and conformist when I am neither of those things?

“At least put a dupatta around your neck,” my aunty…

View original post 1,378 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

